Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Stewart, Lorenzini & Foster Win in Orangetown, Nyack

Alex Gromack Unseated as Clarkstown Supervisor

Supervisor Andy Stewart (D) won re-election to a third term as the chief executive officer for the Town of Orangetown, holding off challenger Michael Moroney (R). Stewart received 56% of the votes cast.

Nyack Village Board 2015 Election ResultsIncumbent trustees Doug Foster (D) and Marie Lorenzini (D) were re-elected as Nyack Village Board members receiving 41% and 39% of the votes, respectively. Joe Carlin, who ran as an independent on the Nyack First line, received 21% of the votes cast.

Nyack Mayor Jen Laird White ran unopposed and was elected to a third term. Robert Knoebel, also unopposed, was re-elected as Nyack Village Justice.

Republican challenger George Hoehmann took 56% of the votes upseting incumbent Alex Gromack in the Town of Clarkstown Supervisor race. Gromack had served as Clarkstown’s Supervisor since 2004. Prior to becoming town Supervisor, Gromack had been a seven term NYS Assemblyman and a member of the Rockland Country Legislature.

Orangetown Supervisor Andy Stewart will have some Democratic company on the Orangetown Town Council for the first time. Only two tenths of one percent separated first place finisher and newcomer Jerry Bottari-D (26.0%) and Paul Valentine-R (25.8%). Republican Tom Morr (24.5%) and Chris Smith (D, 23.5%) finished third and fourth.

Louis Falco (D) won re-election as Rockland County Sheriff, defeating Republican Rich Vasquez 58% to 42%.

Nancy Low-Hogan (D-South Nyack) won re-election to the Rockland County Legislature with 72% of the votes cast, easily dispatching independent challenger Michael Bryceland.

There was a big turnout in the Town Supervisor contests sustaining Stewart and ousting Gromack, with 35% and 34% of registered voters casting a ballot in Orangetown and Clarkstown respectively. The voter turnout in Nyack was 25%.

Orangetown Supervisor
Andy Stewart (D)* 5,971 56%
Michael Moroney (R) 4,747 44%

Nyack Village Board
Doug Foster (D)* 772 41%
Marie Lorenzini (D)* 733 39%
Joe Carlin (I) 390 21%

Clarkstown Supervisor
George Hoehmann (R) 10,186 56%
Alex Gromack (D)* 8,086 44%
* Incumbent

Source: Rockland County Board of Elections

Nyack People & Places, a weekly series that features photos and profiles of citizens and scenes near Nyack, NY, is sponsored by Sun River Health.

You May Also Like

The Villages

This week in the Villages we look at the rumor-filled and then abrupt ending of Starbucks in Nyack and what it means.

The Villages

This week in the Villages, we look delve into all the empty storefronts downtown and look back at St. Patrick's Day festivities through the...

The Villages

This week in the Villages, we look at Nyack's school board, which is expected to go into a special executive session Friday night after...